Wednesday, 23 January 2013

Song of the Day: Youth Lagoon - Dropla

On January 4 Youth Lagoon's Trevor Powers announced a new album due to be released this year, and this is the first track he's shared from it. Something about the psychedelic dream pop of this song has got me all excited to hear the rest of Wondrous Bughouse, due out via Fat Possum Records on March 5 in the USA and March 18 in the UK.

And yes, if this song screams Animal Collective to you then you've got a good ear. Before producer Ben H. Allen lent his talents to Wondrous Bughouse he worked on Merriweather Post Pavilion and last year's Centipede Hz with the Animal Collective guys. I'll be looking forward to what this LP has in store, since it apparently explores Powers' issues with dysphoria and how he finds it easier to express himself through song than actual conversation. Fair enough man, if it makes things sound this good then I guess I'm down.

Full tracklisting:

  1. Through Mind and Back
  2. Mute
  3. Attic Doctor
  4. The Bath
  5. Pelican Man
  6. Dropla
  7. Sleep Paralysis
  8. Third Dystopia
  9. Raspberry Cane
  10. Daisyphobia

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...