Tuesday, 30 April 2013

Disclosure announce 'Settle' tracklist

And it's pretty damn good, at a first glance. As is becoming the trend with a few of the hyped albums released this year (A$AP Rocky, James Blake, Lapalux) the main artists are calling in cameos from some big names to pull in more listeners.

In the case of garage/house sibling duo Disclosure, that translates to featured drops from pop starlet Eliza Doolittle, rising stars AlunaGeorge, alt-r'n'b producer and songwriter Jamie Woon (!) and Jessie Ware, already one of their partners in remix crime. So basically, this album should be great. Have a look at the tracklisting for yourself:
01 Intro
02 When a Fire Starts to Burn
03 Latch (feat. Sam Smith)
04 F for You
05 White Noise (feat. AlunaGeorge)
06 Defeated No More (feat. Ed Mac)
07 Voices (feat. Sasha Keable)
08 Second Chance
09 You & Me (feat. Eliza Doolittle)
10 January (feat. Jamie Woon)
11 Confess to Me (feat. Jessie Ware)
12 Help Me Lose My Mind (feat. London Grammar)
From what we've heard on singles "White Noise" with Aluna (which Hudson Mohawke ripped a new one on this awesome remix) and "You and Me" featuring Eliza, this is going to be a trip down 90s house memory lane. But updated, of course.

The album, Settle, comes out on June 3rd in the U.K. and June 4th elsewhere and you can pre-order it here. The Brothers Lawrence will be touring a ton this summer, so if you're doing European festivals click to check whether they'll be playing a stage near you. And enjoy the new video for "You and Me" (above) in the meantime. It follows a young London couple on a bit of a Eurotrip adventure, and also stars the same stunning woman from r'n'b singer Delilah's "Breathe" video. Seriously, who is she?

Saturday, 27 April 2013

Q & A with Big K.R.I.T.

Big K.R.I.T. is a rapper from Mississippi who's put out 10 mixtapes and a handful of albums and EPs over the last six years.

His latest one's called King Remembered In Time (which is also what the K.R.I.T. in his name stands for, FYI) and came out on April 10, 2013.

I met up with K.R.I.T. earlier this week at Def Jam's offices in Midtown and proceeded to conduct one of the weirdest music interviews I've done in a while. I mean, we talked about the mixtape and his upcoming west coast tour for like two minutes, before I inducted him into a Celebrity Question of the Day for VICE.com. We ended up talking about the end of the world, teenage hookups in cars and orgy soundtracks. You know, the usual rap interview fare. You can read it here, and check out his James Blake-sampling single "R.E.M." below.

Tuesday, 23 April 2013

Song of the Day: Mac Miller - S.D.S

Rapper Mac Miller's back. And he's got Flying Lotus on production duties, whipping together mind-melter, "SDS." The single leaked about 15 hours before it dropped on iTunes at midnight on Tuesday April 23, but it's available for purchase now (for $1.29, which isn't the worst thing ever considering how well-made this song is).

It's all sonic dips and heady synths that make me think I'd really like to hear a Lapalux and Miller collaboration in the not-too-distant future. The single's video comes out tomorrow, so keep an eye out for what I predict will feature slow-motion, Miller smiling a bunch and like some kids skating in the background or whatever.

We haven't heard from Miller in a while. His 2012 Macadelic mixtape came out strong, featuring Kendrick Lamar, Joey Bada$$ as well as Clams Casino and ID Labs on production. So I'm looking forward to hearing what he's got on offer with an upcoming full-length release.

Keep up with his news on his Facebook page here if you're interested too.

UPDATE: Here's the new video, for your viewing pleasure. Watch Mac Miller go all superhero on our asses.

Monday, 8 April 2013

Album Stream: The Knife - Shaking the Habitual

While today's biggest news is definitely some sort of tie between Thatcher's death and that batshit-crazy song by country singer Brad Paisley (okay, not really a tie but seriously WTF is "Accidental Racist" about?), The Knife are hear to make it all alright again.

They've been streaming Shaking the Habitual, their new album, for a few days now and I figured it was time to share the love. The record came out on April 5, via Rabid Records, and is released on CD, vinyl and digital download.

Fans of experimental electro pop will be freaking out all over this one, and I can see myself playing it obsessively for quite a while. Be warned: The Knife don't always sound the most accessible when you first listen to their stuff, but their albums are definitely rewarding long players.

They've released two pretty wonderful videos off the album too, which you can watch below.

Now, I'll get back to literally trying to understand what LL Cool J's doing on a song about why wearing a Confederate flag t-shirt is totally cool now.

Thursday, 4 April 2013

Album Stream: Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Mosquito

The Yeah Yeah Yeahs sort of belong in a class of their own, where their eccentricity contrasts almost comically with the simplicity of a lot of their music. They're not like The Flaming Lips or The Mars Volta, bands where being weird becomes part of a quest to out-maneuver their peers on guitar, or outdo others on extravagant live stage set-ups (and I say this with tons of love and respect for both the Lips and Volta, by the way). Rather, they produce music that gets to the point, hits you with a riff, dances around you a bit then ends. And it works.

After about four years they've followed 2009's It's Blitz! with Mosquito. They shared this listening party video with all of the interwebs on Wednesday, premiering the LP. Watch frontwoman Karen O, guitarist Nick Zinner and drummer Brian Chase talk through the record track-by-track for Noisey. Then, of course, go ahead and buy the darn thing if you like what you hear. 

The band are playing the David Letterman Show on Friday April 5, and a selection of tour dates around America, Europe and the UK this summer. Click here for more info on those.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...